Going deeper into bass

How and what to teach and learn.
hyperbolica

Going deeper into bass

Post by hyperbolica »

I know you are all probably sick of hearing me say that I'm a fairly solid tenor player, but a reluctant bass bone player, but I'm going to say it again. I've been rather dragged into it out of necessity, or out of opportunity in any case. I really don't want to fully commit to bass bone and abandon tenor, but I'm coming to a point where I've got to do something. I started playing in a big band as a sub on bass, and now they are counting me as a full-on member. So much that they're going to bring in some bass-bone feature tunes. Which is a little frightening to be honest.

I'm not only a reluctant bass bone player, I'm also not a great one. I've never taken any lessons focused on bass, I've rarely actually practiced bass (aside from the couple of months around when I bought an actual bass trombone). So there are a lot of details about bass playing that I'm a bit fuzzy on, just extrapolating from tenor. There was a time when I could play pedal C on tenor with a 5G mouthpiece. Now I struggle to get pedal F on bass. Generally I find low notes easier on small horns than on my bass.

I guess the upshot of all this whining is that I've got to improve in the next two weeks. I can play the pedal F, but I have to use a Marcinkiewicz 105 (which I believe is a tuba mouthpiece) to do it with much volume. My articulation is the typical blatty bass trombone explosions, and my air supply is somewhat short. I think my sound is decent, but not stellar.

My equipment is a Kanstul 1662i with a DE LB 112 K9 (about 1 1/4G size). I think the sound is fuzzier than I'd like (more like a euph than a tenor bone). I may be able to use a large tenor with a second valve (Holton tr159 with plug in valve) to get a brighter sound, but I fear the articulations will sound even harder and the "buzz saw effect" will take over.