Benge 190F Valve Repair

Jrw398

Benge 190F Valve Repair

Post by Jrw398 »

I have recently bought a Benge 190F from eBay, and the description says that the stops were missing from the instrument.
I have no knowledge on instrument repair, and would like to know what parts I would be needing and how to repair the instrument. I have looked on YouTube and have not found what I am looking for.
I have not acquired the instrument yet as it has shipped today, but I want to get some help prior so I know what I am getting myself into.
BGuttman

Re: Benge 190F Valve Repair

Post by BGuttman »

The valve stops are rubber cylinders put in a pair of recesses on the stop plate. You don't need to do any disassembly to put them in. The rubber, usually Neoprene, comes as a rope that you slice pieces off. Usually ¼" (6 mm) diameter.

HOWEVER

If you really want the valve to play properly you need to trim these stops (usually with a single edge razor blade) so that the ports inside the valve line up properly at either end of travel. This requires a bit of skill. A good tech will have a bore camera to examine the position of the rotor and will trim the stops so that the valve ports align properly. If you try to do this yourself you may go through a few sets until everything is right.

Alternatively, there are "witness marks" that are supposed to show when the valve ports are properly aligned. Sometimes these can be off, and if the valve was disassembled and reassembled improperly they can be useless. I've trimmed bumpers to the witness marks and had good success, but no guarantee that you will also.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
ithinknot

Post by ithinknot »

If you're dealing with an instrument that has missing parts, realistically it's going to need chem cleaning and various other things doing, all of which I'm guessing might be new to you. Nothing ever has only one thing wrong with it.