Need Advice on Mouthpieces

How and what to teach and learn.
jazztonight

Need Advice on Mouthpieces

Post by jazztonight »

I’m driving myself nuts, and need some help and advice! My conflict is about my mouthpiece.

Background: I’ve been playing trombone for a little over a year, mostly studying on my own (although I’ve had a couple of lessons). I’m a musician in my early 70s with a degree in composition. I play piano and flute, and have also played tenor sax. The trombone is my first brass instrument.

I practice over an hour pretty much every day—long tones, lip slurs, major scales, and then slowly sight-read through some kind of repertoire such as Rochut or a duet book. I then play a couple of standards or jazz tunes at slow tempos along with the iRealPro app. My goal is to play trombone in the community concert band where I currently play flute. I’m not ready yet.

My horn was gifted to me; it’s a 1935 Conn 4H, and I really like it.

I’ve been working with two different mouthpieces: a Bach 7C and a Bach 6.5AL. Although I play about the same with each, have to say I like the sound of the 6.5AL better—it’s deeper, richer, and more like the trombone sound I’d like to pursue. But I sometimes fear that it may be too big for my embouchure. I just don’t know. I’ve been using the 7C for a longer period and can often hit the higher notes a little more easily than I can with the 6.5AL.

My sound on the 7C is thinner, not as robust or deep as on the 6.5AL. The 7C seems like it’s smaller when I put it up to my mouth. My lips fit more comfortably in the 6.5AL.

My questions are:
Is there any long-term danger or risk in playing one mouthpiece vs. the other? In other words, can I harm myself? Since I’m a relative newbie and this is my first brass instrument, I really don’t know.