Your warm up

How and what to teach and learn.
bigbandbone

Your warm up

Post by bigbandbone »

My life as a trombonist started in the late 60's playing a small bore tenor straight horn. I had a good warm up routine that worked for me.

Since I started playing bass just a short couple of years ago I haven't found a comfortable warm up routine that really gets my chops ready. Especially when time is limited right before a gig.

What do you do? Looking for ideas!
ArbanRubank

Re: Your warm up

Post by ArbanRubank »

Right now, I am exclusively playing a single-trigger bass with a Doug Yeo mouthpiece (finally!). As far as warm-ups and technical skill advancement is concerned: I still like the Davis 15-Minute Warm-Up book. In the morning, I work through it as written, extending parts of it up and/or down and in the evening, I work through it an octave lower. It can be done. Also, in the morning, I work through an Arbans Fantasy with variations as written and then again in the evening one octave lower. I limit myself to about 45 minutes or so each session on this kind of stuff.

Edit: To be perfectly clear, the above is my combined "warm-up" and "build up" routine. Afterwards, I do about an hour to 1 1/2 hours of ballads.

If I was simply warming up prior to a performance, I would do a few flexibilities, a little articulation and then go.
Last edited by ArbanRubank on Mon May 25, 2020 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

The Michael Davis warmups (10, 15, 20 minutes) are a good starting place if you're looking for something. I used the 15 minute with the play-along exclusively for a few months, and it was great.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
ArbanRubank

Post by ArbanRubank »

Burgerbob wrote: Mon May 25, 2020 11:16 am The Michael Davis warmups (10, 15, 20 minutes) are a good starting place if you're looking for something. I used the 15 minute with the play-along exclusively for a few months, and it was great.