Efficient practice routine for my schedule

How and what to teach and learn.
watasnake

Efficient practice routine for my schedule

Post by watasnake »

Hello everyone. I am a public school music teacher and have some available time to practice between lessons like this:

30 minutes before school starts

10 minute breaks between three one hour lessons. (One lesson, 10 minutes, second lesson, 10 minutes, third lesson, 10 minutes.)

30 minute break

One more 10 minute break

Typically I do a great morning warmup during the 30 minute session. The embouchure/centering from Reinhardt, Remington study at MP, again at P, then “sub tone”, Reinhardt #57 (tongue/slurs), finish with scales around the cycle in two octaves (highest note is to a double f – top treble clef) all played soft and I alternate slur and tongued each day. Then lip slurs. I am comfortable with this part.

What I can’t figure out are the 10 minute spaces. What should I do? Maybe tonguing (double, triple, doodle) for one? Don’t know. The second 30 minute break is always literature. I actually prefer doing exercises!

My goals at the moment: range security and endurance while focusing my chops to be as efficient as possible. Any ideas?
harrisonreed

Re: Efficient practice routine for my schedule

Post by harrisonreed »

watasnake wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:55 pm My goals at the moment: range security and endurance while focusing my chops to be as efficient as possible. Any ideas?
Simple arpeggios, both lip slurred and tongued. Start with Eb one line below the staff, two octaves, as your middle home base. Tempo 60, eighth note triplets. That should be extremely easy, so to make it difficult strive for perfection in every aspect. Work the other scales around that Eb in the same way.