Highest note in the symphonic repertoire

How and what to teach and learn.
louislagueux

Highest note in the symphonic repertoire

Post by louislagueux »

Hi everyone, this is my first post here

I'm also new to the trombone, i've been playing for about a month now (after playing euphonium for all of high-school) and its been a thrill! I was just wondering about what would the highest note in the symphonic repertoire be for the tenor trombone? The highest i've seen would be in Symphonie Fantastique, in the 4th mouvement, which is Eb. I believe this part was originally intended for the alto trombone but i've seen in performed on the tenor several times.

Can someone explain all this to me?

Thank you!
BGuttman

Re: Highest note in the symphonic repertoire

Post by BGuttman »

Welcome to the Chat!

There was a time when the three parts in a trombone section were for an alto in Eb, a tenor in Bb, and a bass in F. But there was also a contention that the three trombones were all the same length but of different bore sizes.

Consorts of Sackbuts (the instrument in use before the development of what we consider the trombone) were in these three sizes. The Alto comfortably topped out at Eb 2 octaves above the one in the bass staff. The tenor comfortably topped out at Bb an octave above the one on top of the bass staff, and the bass topped out at F 2 lines above the bass staff. Composers generally adopted these limits for the 3 voices.

Tenor players developed the ability to play much higher than the "nominal" range and thus the need for an alto disappeared since the parts could be played on the tenor.

Thus you will see that the highest note for trombone parts is the Eb you describe. I believe there might be a couple of F's above that but I haven't seen any.