Double tonguing tips/advices

How and what to teach and learn.
irtjames14

Double tonguing tips/advices

Post by irtjames14 »

Hello,

So I just recently purchased a bass trombone and would be my first time really playing a trombone again since 2005 (back when I graduated from middle school - while I did probably touch a trombone rarely ever since then, I wouldn't really consider that playing..). Once this new trombone arrives in a few days (hopefully), the first thing I would like to start practicing is double tonguing..

I have seen a few youtube videos about using the ta-ka, du-gu techniques and start practicing that to get your tongue used to double tonguing, with the emphasis on the ka (or the gu), to strengthen the back part of your tongue.

But if there are any other tips/advices that anyone can provide as I start this journey, this would be great. Thank you all in advance!
Doug Elliott

Re: Double tonguing tips/advices

Post by Doug Elliott »

Number one is start with triple tonguing, not double.
Number two is to use D and G.
Number three is to start in the upper middle range where the tongue stroke is a lot less distance than it is in the middle or low range.

It's really not the back of the tongue that does the G or K, it's only a little back from the front.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
irtjames14

Post by irtjames14 »

Doug Elliott wrote: Tue Apr 19, 2022 9:18 am Number one is start with triple tonguing, not double.
Number three is to start in the upper middle range where the tongue stroke is a lot less distance than it is in the middle or low range.

It's really not the back of the tongue that does the G or K, it's only a little back from the front.
Oh, may I ask why start with triple tonguing, not double? I would've thought triple is more difficult than double..
GabrielRice

Post by GabrielRice »

Agreed with Doug on pretty much all of that.