Vintage Buying Advice

iambeam

Vintage Buying Advice

Post by iambeam »

Hi everyone. I've picked up the Trombone after a hiatus of about 30 years! Used to play in grade school...

I'm a fairly good Guitarist and Pianist - a friend has a New Orleans/Jazz/Blues band and have picked it up again to be a part of that group!

I bought a used King 606 and it's working out fine, but now I'm wondering if I could buy something that has more of that old 20s/30s vintage sound!

From what I've read - the King 2b might be good. I'm also interested in something like a Conn 4h...

Let me know your suggestions!
BGuttman

Re: Vintage Buying Advice

Post by BGuttman »

I would suggest the following (only one of which is still being made):

King 2B
Conn 4H, 24H, 32H, 38H.
Bach 6
Martin Imperial or Committee (I played an Imperial in a Dixieland Band for several years)
Olds Recording or Special
Holton 65 or 69

I would stay away from some of the instruments of that period. The King #2 Solo or Improved Proportion may have serious slide problems, as would a York or Buescher. My Holton Paul Whiteman has serious problems with the outer tubes in the TIS section and I suspect it may be a common problem.

Maybe even a Yamaha 697 or 897. Yamaha 354 is good for less money.

Lots of other choices.

Good luck.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
chromebone

Post by chromebone »