Holton Friedman

castrubone

Holton Friedman

Post by castrubone »

Another Jay Friedman thread! Does anybody know when he switched from Holton to Bach?
chromebone

Re: Holton Friedman

Post by chromebone »

He started on Bach, went to Holton in the mid to late ‘70’s but I don’t think he really played on the Holton that long. Any video I’ve seen of him even by the mid ‘80’s he looks to be playing a Bach.
Crazy4Tbone86

Post by Crazy4Tbone86 »

I also heard that the Holton/Friedman relationship was not very long. One could understand why Friedman tried to establish a relationship with Holton. Many of the CSO horn players had worked with Holton for many years. In the trombone section, Ed Kleinhammer had Holton bass trombones at different times and Frank Crisafulli loved his Holton TR-150 models.

All I can say is.....thank goodness Friedman went to Holton and did some experimenting with them. As a student, I was absolutely fascinated with the Holton TR-256 when I saw it advertised in music magazines in the late 1970s. It had a unique size dual bore .547 - .559 and a screw rim bell.....nothing else was like it on the market! My fascinating continued for almost 15 years. When I saw a Holton TR-256 on clearance sale in a Woodwind & Brasswind catalog in 1993, I had to buy it.

I have modified the horn for removable leadpipes since then, but the horn is a beast. I occasionally take it out on orchestral gigs. The sound is very thick, dense and vibrant......very fun to play! My only complaint would be that the slide is a little longer than my normal Bach 42 horns. For me, it is slightly imbalanced and feels a bit front heavy.
Brian D. Hinkley - Player, Teacher, Technician and Trombone Enthusiast
hyperbolica

Post by hyperbolica »

I had the 156 in the late 80s, same horn without the screw bell. At that time my chops were in great shape, and I played with an orchestra that could handle a lot of Brass. It was a monster horn for orchestra.
castrubone

Post by castrubone »