.525 or .547 Bore?

MAcount10

.525 or .547 Bore?

Post by MAcount10 »

Hi, I'm currently a college freshman looking to buy a trombone; it's been about a year since I've played. My current dilemma is choosing between a .525 or .547 bore. Two local musicians have enthusiastically advised me to get a .525 bore horn: they're apparently more versatile and flexible in any playing environment. The recommendations were also based on the fact that I'm uncertain as to which genre of music I'll be playing in. I know that .547 bore trombones are standard in symphony orchestras where a big sound is required, but right now I'm only in a casual orchestra which plays film and video game music. I was in my high school's symphony orchestra though, so I might have an interest in auditioning for my college's symphony orchestra.

At my local music store, I've found a barely used Getzen 3047AFR (.547) for $2200 and a barely used Getzen Eterna II 725 (double bore .525/.547) for $1700. I've researsched online a bit and found the Bach 36B and the JP 331 Rath to be good .525 bore horns; the used trombones on Brass Ark also seemed impressive to me. I'm primarily looking for a professional trombone that can last me a while, one that's preferably around $2500, but the budget's lenient - within reason of course.

I would greatly appreciate any advice for my situation. Thank you!

Edit: as a reply to the first post, I'm an amatuer trombonist that wants trombone to be a lifelong hobby. I'm currently borrowing the Getzen 3047 AFR from my local; it plays a bit heavy to me (I used to play a .525 trombone) and it builds up spit a lot faster than other trombones (I hear spit in it all the time).
Last edited by MAcount10 on Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Matt K
Verified

Re: .525 or .547 Bore?

Post by Matt K »