Why are earlier horns better?

Elow

Why are earlier horns better?

Post by Elow »

It seems like for every manufacturer, the older the better. What makes elkhart conns so good? Why are new york bachs so much better? I mean its cool and all to have a low serial number, but does the era of horn really make that much of a difference. I havent heard the same about shires or edwards, maybe because they arent so old. I just dont understand why manufacturers cant produce the same quality horns, if not higher quality. I am just a high school student so please enlighten me
Burgerbob

Re: Why are earlier horns better?

Post by Burgerbob »

Easy answer.

They're not! :)
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
braymond21

Post by braymond21 »

I don't think it's so much that they're better, but different. With companies that have been around for a long time like Bach, many things change in their manufacturing and design process so there may be things about the older horns that people tend to like more than the modern horns. They're not really better, just different.
Bryce Raymond
Owner/Repair Tech, Raymond Music
https://www.raymondmusic.com
Posaunus

Post by Posaunus »

New trombones from many manufacturers - Bach, Conn, King, Yamaha, Edwards, Getzen, Shires, Rath, Courtois, ... can be superb – often more consistent and better in many respects than any ever made before. Of course they may have different characteristics than the old artisan-crafted models, with all their "personality," that you'll see described by TromboneChat afficionados (and which are only available "used"). New trombones are typically quite a bit more expensive than these older models, making them less attractive to us collectors. Many of us are searching for bargains (only to be found in older instruments) or following dreams from long ago. But many working professional musicians – who must depend on their instruments for their income – choose to play new trombones.