Yamaha 891z or HN White 3B

mickael57280

Yamaha 891z or HN White 3B

Post by mickael57280 »

Hi, dilemma there.

I'm an amateur big band and combo player and can't make my mind between a new Yamaha 891z I can have for 25% less than regular price that I can pick near home or an HN White 3B from DJ.

3B is half the price of the Yamaha.

Thing is DJ listed the 3B with excellent slide but don't know what to expect to an 50 years old horn, with the yamaha I know it's a new modern horn with fantastic slide.

All opinions welcome.
Trevorspaulding376

Re: Yamaha 891z or HN White 3B

Post by Trevorspaulding376 »

Of those 2 I’d go hn white 3b

Half the price , do I thin Yamaha is double the horn to account for the value? Nope

Both are comparable, I’ve had both. Good horns , the 891z didn’t do too much for me though personally.

3bs can be variable had some great ones and some just ok ones , but the hn white era horns are a good vintage , for the bang for the buck I’d go that route.

Other horns to consider would be a 16m, Getzen 3508, dual bore Bach 16

I had a dual bore 3508 at one point that I thought was a phenomenal horn.
djkennedy

Post by djkennedy »

Picking out a 3B is an adventure!!!!
They vary a lot
Some players find them resistant
We have pulled the leadpipes and widened the slide
The most popular one in Miami is the Loopy Ropy engraving pattern It seems to have a very solid sound
and will hold up to any amount of volume also blends well
In a horn section
There are thinner bell types w more flex
And some very stubborn quirky ones that make you determined to tame a ride
Once I made acquaintance of a TV orchestra player
Who asked if I thought he was nuts because he played
four different 3Bs. Well I grew to understand this
Recently I had a 3b sonic put together with an 891 slide
Wow 😮
The 891 is probably more even playing cleaner more consistent while the 3B has more spice
Especially the oldies
I was playing a 1960 g bell 3B then fell upon a 58