Bach omega F-trigger trombone or Yamaha YSL200AD?

nobodyshero1993

Bach omega F-trigger trombone or Yamaha YSL200AD?

Post by nobodyshero1993 »

I'm a beginner who's been renting a trombone for a couple months. I'm currently playing on a Bundy straight trombone. I found someone selling an F trigger trombone for the same price as a used ysl200. Which is the better horn? And are trigger trombones ok for beginners? I know it might be a bit more difficult since it has extra tubing and I run out of breath really easily on the trombone already have, but as a bassist, it'd be cool to have easier access to a lower range on this instrument. What do you all think? What flaws shall I look for when buying a used instrument?
BGuttman

Re: Bach omega F-trigger trombone or Yamaha YSL200AD?

Post by BGuttman »

Are trigger trombones better for beginners? It depends. Mostly it depends on the trigger trombone.

A large bore trigger trombone will be a big stretch for a beginner, especially one having a problem with air on a Bundy. A smaller bore trigger trombone will work fine. Something like an Olds Ambassador A-20 or Bach TB-200F (Omega) can work well.

A Yamaha 200AD is an excellent instrument (it's actually the 354, but sold by brick and mortar stores).

I usually suggest that you start on a straight trombone and then move to a trombone with an F-attachment if that is what you want. You need to become proficient on the Bb side of the trombone before you delve into the F-attachment.

The Omega is a good place to start on an F-attachment especially since you don't have to change your mouthpiece at first. But I'd suggest going to a larger mouthpiece eventually -- like a 4C or 6.5AL to make the lower register work better.

I know this is a sorta waffling answer, but I can't see the F-attachment trombone you are interested in so I have to guess.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Kingfan

Post by Kingfan »