Stupid question

Chatname

Stupid question

Post by Chatname »

I’ve been a professional trombone player for 30 years, so this question is a bit embarrassing to ask.., Anyway: which slides and bell sections from different makers are compatible, meaning fitting together?
E.g. my M&Ws fit with my Bach slides, however not with my Shires slide’s tenons.
How about Conns, Raths, Edwards and so on? Which instruments fit together?
pedrombon

Re: Stupid question

Post by pedrombon »

Sonas Artist
Granada Brass
Orquesta Ciudad de Almería
Chatname

Post by Chatname »

Thank you! 🙏 That was interesting!
Chatname

Post by Chatname »

Still curious though; which large bore tenor trombones from the reputable brands fit together, without any tech work done?
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

There's roughly two main types... Bach style and Conn style (Rath is its own thing). Shires is a tiny bit of an outlier, they will sometimes fit Bach style stuff but not always.

The brands using Conn style are Conn, Getzen, and perhaps some Greenhoes (but I think all modern ones are Bach style).

Everyone else uses Bach style of varying compatibility. I've had Shires slides that fit Bachs with no issues, but I had to change the tenon on my current Shires dual bore (to an Edwards part) to fit my Bach bass.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
Chatname

Post by Chatname »

That’s interesting. When I started you were either a Bach or a Conn player. So it’s still polarized, like in politics? You can match one set of instruments with Conns and another set with Bach’s?
Chatname

Post by Chatname »

So Edwards is compatible with Bach? And Rath with nothing? M&W should be compatible with Edwards??
tbonesullivan

Post by tbonesullivan »

Chatname wrote: Sun Nov 01, 2020 4:19 pm That’s interesting. When I started you were either a Bach or a Conn player. So it’s still polarized, like in politics? You can match one set of instruments with Conns and another set with Bach’s?