Olds Special Questions

Rich5905

Olds Special Questions

Post by Rich5905 »

Did the Olds Special trombones ever have the Duo-Octagonal inner slides? I have seen the Olds brochure from the early 70's that has been posted online, and in the description of the Specials in there, it sounds like at that time the Specials did not have Duo-Octagonal slides. I was wondering if maybe the earlier Los Angeles Specials would have had them. In the quality pecking order, where would the Special rate? In the brochure I kind of got the impression the Special might have been considered an "intermediate" or a "step-up" trombone. Is that an accurate impression? Finally, what is the general opinion of the Olds Specials? Good horn, bad horn, avoid at all costs?

I am just a very amateur player and like the Olds trombones mostly because that is what I learned on as a kid. I have been on the lookout for a Los Angeles Olds, and have run across a nice Los Angeles Special. Going back and forth about getting it or holding off in hopes of running across a nice Los Angeles Recording or Super. This Special seems to be quite a bit less expensive than the Los Angeles Recordings or Supers I have seen in similar condition, so it is tempting purely from a price perspective.
mrdeacon

Re: Olds Special Questions

Post by mrdeacon »

As far as I know they never had Octo slides. The LA one I had from the 50s had round tubes and every Fullerton special I've ever seen has had round tubes. John L if he sees this topic is the man and will know if any were ever produced with them.

How much are you looking to spend on a new horn? Supers and Recording can be had for pretty cheap in good shape in the $300-600 range if you're patient.
Rath R1 2000s, Elliott XT
Bach 42 1974, Elliott XT
Holton 169 1965, Elliott LB
Minick Bass Trombone 1980s, Elliott LB
Posaunus

Post by Posaunus »