Compared a 2B, a 3B-F, and a Getzen student horn

Kingfan

Compared a 2B, a 3B-F, and a Getzen student horn

Post by Kingfan »

I lucked into a nice Getzen 400 series (451?) student trombone for cheap. I sat down today and compared it to my 1960s King 2B and my 1970s King 3B-F. I am an oddball for who larger than normal mouthpieces fit me best even on small bores, so my results may be skewed. When I started playing my 3B-F as primary vs. my 4B-F/Bach 5G, I went through the normal mps from Bach 7 and up with no luck until Doug suggested a Bach 5 size. I have the original 5 I bought as backup to the DE mouthpiece that is similar to it and started by using both mouthpieces, but the one I wasn't playing on kept getting cold so I "hot swapped" the DE piece between all three horns when I was playing. I though this would also level the playing field more. I will add that I found out after COVID shut down the bands I was in, I have picked up the horns maybe two hours total since March.

I started off with some big band charts, fast and slow and high and low. Brass quintet arrangement of Birdland with the trombone having lots of melody and notes up to high D octave and and above middle C. Maynard Ferguson versions of Chameleon and Country Road. Dee Barton arrangement of Here's That Rainy Day, low and slow. Wolpe arrangement of How High The Moon, high and fast. I then switched to Morceau Symphonique, that old warhorse classical solo. I was going to try etudes next, but my lip was waving the white flag of surrender so quit at that point. What did I find?

I don't like the 2B as much as I thought. Seems to back up on me, even with the larger mouthpiece. Physically it seemed too small, bore out by the fact that the bell is 1/4" closer to the slide receiver than on the 3B. I could cut through on high notes better on the other horns than on the 2B.