beginner should not get a pro level horn? Why?

august

Post by august »

Hello all, this is my first post. I am an adult beginner on the trombone with a little late beginner level to early intermediate level background on piano. I have been practicing for about 6 months on a cheap chinese horn and I am thinking about buying a used 3b or 2b or something similar. What do you all think about my wanting to buy a pro level horn so early in my studies? Will it hurt or help me? I just want an instrument that won't hold me back from getting better and giving me a better sound thus being more fun to play on. Also a little more incentive to practice more. Any tips would be much appreciated. Thank you all for your help.
Doug Elliott

Re: beginner should not get a pro level horn? Why?

Post by Doug Elliott »

You can't really go wrong with a 3B.

There are "cheap chinese horns" that are awful and others that are fine. The same goes for "pro level horns."

I had a 3B when I was 11 or 12. A lot depends on what kind of playing you want to do, but a 3B is a good all around choice that will fit almost anywhere you're likely to play.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

Much of the reason student horns exist is because young beginners don't necessarily take care of something as well as an adult.

If you want to start on a 3B, then that's a fine starting place.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
Conn100HGuy

Post by Conn100HGuy »

If you were considering the oboe or bassoon, you may not want to sink 20K or more into a "pro" horn. You can get an absolutely fine pro trombone for less than $1,000 if you shop wisely. DK is the best place on the forum to start.
Onward and Upward
Kingfan

Post by Kingfan »