Thomann Alto

imsevimse

Thomann Alto

Post by imsevimse »

A week ago I decided to do something I've never done before. I decided to order a real cheap Chinese trombone from Thomann. I did that just to know.

I've heard some still say they are bad but there are also others that say they are quite alright for students. I decided to have a go and bought a Thomann Alto. Price was 2.090 skr and that also included shipping from Germany to Sweden. For that price I could not get anything used that is playable from eBay today. At least half of it would be for international shipping alone. About 31% on the final price with shipping would also be added for different taxes and fees. Finally our postservice would have my pay yet another fee when I collect. I think that fee still is 75 skr. I guess If I could buy something for just about 500 skr I still would have to pay another 1.500 skr just to get it here.

It is a stencil and looks about the same as many other Chinese Altos. Some say it is a copy of the "Slokar" model. I got it two days ago and did not expect much.

The first thing I noticed was the slide was perfect. Next thing is it plays remarkably well and after that I'm totally blown away. I have a Bach 39 from the 80ies that I've learned to play. That alto has partials spread all over the horn. I was told Altos are like that. I have no problem with the Bach 39 today and I like the horn a lot. I've done about 15 Mozart's Requiem with that horn.

If I compare the Bach to this Thomann Alto then the Thomann horn lines up the partials a lot better. The fourth position is also right at the bell which is a good thing. This is not the same with the Bach 39. The Bach 39 came with a 15E that was too small so after a lot of experimenting I bought a Bach 12E instead and have allways played that piece since. I own about six other alto mouthpieces of different brands but I still like that Bach 12E best.