NEW Greg Black model-Premru inspired

RustBeltBass

NEW Greg Black model-Premru inspired

Post by RustBeltBass »

Hi everyone,

Some exciting news from Greg Black, published on his Facebook page. :)

He is in the process of manufacturing his first batch of the new 2GP model. This model is based on the copies he made of Raymond Premru’s modified Bach 2G (Mount Vernon). He worked with Mr. Premru in the 90s. Pictures look amazing and I am really excited for these and reserved one already. He should be ready to ship within about 4 weeks according to direct conversation with his shop.

If you are interested, shoot him an email trying to reserve one. That’s what I did.

GabrielRice

Re: NEW Greg Black model-Premru inspired

Post by GabrielRice »

I thought Greg's standard 2G was a copy of Ray's mouthpiece. I guess I was wrong...

Ray played that Mount Vernon 2G all the time I studied with him. It had been bored out a bit - which was a very standard practice for Bach mouthpieces and still is for trumpet players - and someone in England had added metal to the rim to widen the surface. The work was beautifully done, so that you really couldn't tell from looking at it.

Sometime after I finished school, Ray went to New York for a couple of months to play in the NY Phil while Don Harwood was out (I think on a medical leave). While he was there he visited Greg's New Jersey shop and had a copy made of his mouthpiece, in Greg's slightly heavier standard blank. He told me the copy worked better for the volume of sound he needed to produce in the Philharmonic, and he kept playing it afterwards.