Van Haney

stewbones43

Van Haney

Post by stewbones43 »

A friend has asked what I know about Van Haney mouthpieces as he has just got one. My answer is "Very little!"

I have searched on here but only found that they were similar to a 1 and 1/2 G in size but nothing else has come up.

Does anyone have any further information, please?

Cheers

Stewbones
Conn 36H(Pitched in D/A)
B&H Sessionair
Besson 10-10
Conn 74H
Yamaha YSL-641 with Yamaha Custom Slide
Conn 88H Gen II with Conn SL4747 Slide
Besson Academy 409
Rath/Holton/Benge Bb/F/G or Gb/Eb or D Independent Bass
Fridge

Re: Van Haney

Post by Fridge »

It’s actually more like a 2G. He used this when I studied with in high school. 75-77. He sounded absolutely beautiful on it!

Eddie Clark
Doug Elliott

Post by Doug Elliott »

Giardinelli made a Van Haney.
Holton made a Van Haney tenor and a Van Haney bass.

I played on the Holton VH tenor for a short time in college. Not a good mouthpiece.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

Doug Elliott wrote: Fri Oct 02, 2020 8:32 am Giardinelli made a Van Haney.
Holton made a Van Haney tenor and a Van Haney bass.

I played on the Holton VH tenor for a short time in college. Not a good mouthpiece.
I bet it was fine for Van Haney, though. And for anybody with an embouchure similar to his. Probably not for me. I did much better on a Remington.

If I recall correctly the Van Haney tenor mouthpiece was based on a modified 6.5 AL.

Bass was based on a modified 2G or 1 1/2 G if I recall correctly.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Basbasun

Post by Basbasun »

I played very shortly on a bass mpc, more like 1 1/2G then 2G. That was in the late 60th or early 70th. It might have been good for somebody.
stewbones43

Post by stewbones43 »

Thanks guys.