Giddings mouthpieces

novalvz

Giddings mouthpieces

Post by novalvz »

To those that own and play stainless steel Giddings mouthpieces, what characteristics do they possess that appeal most to you?
What benefits do they provide over a brass mouthpiece?

According to the hype, stainless steel can give the player a brighter sound and more projection with the same effort. True?

But can it blend in a section of brass mouthpieces?

Thanks in advance!
GBP

Re: Giddings mouthpieces

Post by GBP »

I started playing on ss with Hauser mouthpieces, Don Harwood model. When he moved To G&W, I started using his model. The material works for me. I have a clear, focused sound that has a lot of presence. It is definitely not for everyone.
mrdeacon

Post by mrdeacon »

The biggest thing is the feedback is different. Some dig the "clearer" sound. I'm so used to playing brass or brass/plastic that I just can't stand stainless steel.

They are super comfortable and Giddings does make a fine product, it's just not for me.

Also, the super thin shank thing is hogwash. It just makes it easier for your shank to get out of round haha.
Rath R1 2000s, Elliott XT
Bach 42 1974, Elliott XT
Holton 169 1965, Elliott LB
Minick Bass Trombone 1980s, Elliott LB
novalvz

Post by novalvz »

I am beginning to think that I would have to try one to see if it works for me.

The Giddings website describes both the Chocolatero (0.96) and the Bacchus (0.992) as "similar to a Bach 12" . Obviously, this cannot be. Can anyone clarify this?
GBP

Post by GBP »

novalvz wrote: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:13 pm I am beginning to think that I would have to try one to see if it works for me.

The Giddings website describes both the Chocolatero (0.96) and the Bacchus (0.992) as "similar to a Bach 12" . Obviously, this cannot be. Can anyone clarify this?
His mouthpieces come up for sale in the classified section. I would just grab a used one and try them out.
Posaunus

Post by Posaunus »