Edwards Thayer vs. CR-E valves

bassboneman69

Edwards Thayer vs. CR-E valves

Post by bassboneman69 »

I have been playing on Thayers for nearly 20 years. I am contemplating getting a set of CR-E valves to replace my Thayers.
Before I needlessly waste $2400 I would like to inquire if others have had success or failure in a similar change.
Thanks for your help in my quest for information.
tbonesullivan

Re: Edwards Thayer vs. CR-E valves

Post by tbonesullivan »

I would definitely contact Edwards to see what people have been saying.

What particularly are you looking to change from the Thayers?
David S. - daveyboy37 from TTF
Bach 39, LT36B, 42BOF & 42T, King 2103 / 3b, Kanstul 1570CR & 1588CR, Yamaha YBL-612 RII, YBL-822G & YBL-830, B&H Eb Tuba, Sterling 1056GHS Euphonium,
Livingston Symphony Orchestra NJ - Trombone
GBP

Post by GBP »

I have a CR-E inline bass. The horn plays very well. It does not sound/play like a horn with Thayer valves. If you like how you sound with Thayer valves, I wouldn’t buy the CR-E valves. I bought mine because my backup horn was a Getzen Custom while my main horn was a Greenhoe. Switching between the two wasn’t easy and I could never really achieve the sound on the Getzen that I was getting on the Greenhoe.
Ch0ward

Post by Ch0ward »

GBP wrote: Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:22 pm I have a CR-E inline bass. The horn plays very well. It does not sound/play like a horn with Thayer valves. If you like how you sound with Thayer valves, I wouldn’t buy the CR-E valves. I bought mine because my backup horn was a Getzen Custom while my main horn was a Greenhoe. Switching between the two wasn’t easy and I could never really achieve the sound on the Getzen that I was getting on the Greenhoe.
So do you have the CR-E valves on your getzen bell and slide? I was curious if the valves for getzen and edwards were interchangeable.
GBP

Post by GBP »