Options for restoration finish

Cymrych79

Options for restoration finish

Post by Cymrych79 »

Hi all,

I just recently got reacquainted with a late 1960s Olds Special (Fullerton) with a tri-colored bell that I used for much of my high school and immediate post high school career, and am contemplating getting a full restoration. The horn isn't in completely terrible shape but it ain't pretty either. There a little bit of crumpling in the bell, a few dents on the tuning crook, some joints needing resoldering, and overall the finish is quite rough and very splotchy. Slide is not bad but needs some work to find and remove a dent causing some sticking around position 4. It was a school horn that they let me keep when I graduated in the late 90s, as they weren't planning on getting it repaired, and they needed the storage space for a batch of new instruments coming in that summer. I know a restoration including a full delacquering, dent removal, soldering, buffing and relacquering isn't really worth it, but as I got her for free I don't mind spending a bit to bring her up to a more presentable appearance for purely sentimental reasons. Despite being an intermediate horn, she was always a great performer for me, from marching band to concert band to numerous small ensemble groups for the five or six years I played it regularly.

Anyhow, I know a big part of a full restoration cost comes down to the time invested in buffing and polishing to get the brass back to that factory shine. So to keep the cost from spiraling out of control, I'm contemplating a modified finish for this horn. Maybe something like all the yellow brass (which includes the hand slide, and the bell section from the gooseneck-bell support on back) being done in brushed satin finish, and the nickel-silver and red brass bell flair being done with the standard high-gloss finish? Nickel-silver ferrules would probably be satin finished, as well.