getzen 725 eterna ii trombone badly dented

vintage00gypsy

getzen 725 eterna ii trombone badly dented

Post by vintage00gypsy »

I don't know anything at all about trombones. I tend to be given instruments. :idk: Would this be of value to anyone or should I scrap it? I didn't have the heart to just scrap it without reaching out first... As a musician, I am not capable of disposing of it without being 100% sure. So... Here I am... In a trombone forum.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mamaposaune

Re: getzen 725 eterna ii trombone badly dented

Post by Mamaposaune »

The bell looks as though it would need to be replaced, based on the extent of the damage, especially the folds in the brass. Doable, but whether or not it is worth it depends in part on the condition on the rest of the bell section. Is the rotor, trigger, f-attachment tubing and tuning slides OK?
Then there is the slide - it looks as if there is some red rot.
And it is an intermediate model, so even if it is fully repaired the costs may exceed the value.
Elow

Post by Elow »

If you’re throwing it out, i’ll take it
Posaunus

Post by Posaunus »

The bell is almost certainly repairable. It might not look perfect after the crumples are rolled out, but it can be done by a tech who knows the craft. (I had a bell with similar damage, imposed by USPS, successfully restored.) The price will probably be less than you expect, and the results better.

The question is how is the rest of the horn? The Getzen 725 Eterna ii is a good trombone. If the slide, valve, etc. are in good shape it's probably worth restoring. By a GOOD tech. If you don't want to have it done, don't discard it - sell it to someone here who will pay for the project or who wants the useful parts.
brassmedic

Post by brassmedic »