Budget mics for college lessons

AC19

Budget mics for college lessons

Post by AC19 »

Hey guys!

I'm a music education major and because of the current situation, I'm doing all my lessons online through zoom for the foreseeable future. I'm looking for a microphone that I can plug into my laptop via USB, because my built-in mic in my laptop isn't cutting it, but I don't want to spend more than I have to. What decent options do y'all know of that are less than $150 (preferably less than $100 if that isn't too low)? I'm pretty new to the microphone world, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the help!
Burgerbob

Re: Budget mics for college lessons

Post by Burgerbob »

Zoom H1 is a great handheld recorder that you can also hook up via USB to use as a microphone.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
mrdeacon

Post by mrdeacon »

Burgerbob wrote: Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:06 pm Zoom H1 is a great handheld recorder that you can also hook up via USB to use as a microphone.
What type of cable does it use? Micro USB? Does it come with a USB cable?
Rath R1 2000s, Elliott XT
Bach 42 1974, Elliott XT
Holton 169 1965, Elliott LB
Minick Bass Trombone 1980s, Elliott LB
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »

The Shure SM57 has a USB condenser which can be purchased separately; buying both should be around your budget and then you have a great mic if you need to do other recording stuff with.
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

mrdeacon wrote: Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:39 pm
Burgerbob wrote: Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:06 pm Zoom H1 is a great handheld recorder that you can also hook up via USB to use as a microphone.
What type of cable does it use? Micro USB? Does it come with a USB cable?
Mini-B. I have like 300 of those cables. I'm not sure if it came with one or not.
tmarco97

Post by tmarco97 »

My Zoom H2N came with the USB cable, but I couldn't find it anymore. Fortunately, I found one on Amazon for around $5 and it works just fine.
JLivi

Post by JLivi »