Why do we even HAVE that lever?

Spin your yarns here.
robcat2075

Why do we even HAVE that lever?

Post by robcat2075 »

This makes no sense on several levels.

This wouldn't have happened in a Scooby-Doo cartoon... the edge of the trap door is always obvious.
>>Robert Holmén<<

Hear me as I play my horn

See my Spacepod movie
LeTromboniste

Re: Why do we even HAVE that lever?

Post by LeTromboniste »

Yikes. Yeah it almost seems like it can't not be in purpose, unless it's someone who doesn't work there, in which case they should never be allowed to operate the stage lift (or even know where to find the controls for it). I used to be a stage manager and stagehand at a couple venues, and I can't imagine forgetting where the trap is, or then not realizing that a piano is partially on it as it moved... Even then, those lifts usually have an emergency stop button (and modern ones often have a dead man's switch, although that's obviously not the case here), so I'm puzzled by the reflex of running to the piano instead of stopping the lift first. When the person realizes the piano is being partially lifted, it's still early enough to stop and lower the lift again with little to no damage to the instrument.

Then again, shortly before I worked at one of those places, a piano was rolled right off the edge of the stage by a zealous caterer who was impatient to start setting up...
Maximilien Brisson
www.maximilienbrisson.com
Lecturer for baroque trombone,
Hfk Bremen/University of the Arts Bremen
elmsandr

Post by elmsandr »

Related for anybody who finds yourself in a similar situation, trying to stop and catch something far too large is how people end up dead on job sites. When it is clear that it is going, just get out of the way. Gravity will win EVERY time.

Cheers,
Andy
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »

That’s the first thing I thought of. He’s lucky to be alive
OneTon

Post by OneTon »

Darwin doesn’t always prevail.
Richard Smith
Wichita, Kansas
robcat2075