How far can you get alone?

ttf_davdud101

Post by ttf_davdud101 »

This is a big topic, and obviously it  greatly from player to player based on natural musicality and instinct, innate attention to detail, as well uncontrollable factors like amount of available time, life issues etc.

But I'm curious as to what you guys who are teachers think: how far (how skilled) can a player get just from practicing at home? at what point does a player really almost *need* a teacher?

ttf_Doug Elliott

Post by ttf_Doug Elliott »

Some of the very best players have been self-taught, or at least they claim to be.

However, I started with private lessons from the very beginning, and I do think that's the best way.

As you say it really depends on the person.  Especially "innate attention to detail."
ttf_trombonemetal

Post by ttf_trombonemetal »

I’m not sure, but I think you need other people to play with and listen to almost as much as a teacher (if not more, depending on where you are in the journey). I think you can become a great technician by yourself, but not a great musician. I believe music is truly a collaboration between players, students, teachers, listeners, and composers.
ttf_William Lang

Post by ttf_William Lang »

you can get quite far, but it's much harder.

I've had basically 2.5 years of lessons in my life, all after high school. lucky enough to go to a good musical high school though. I always wonder in the back of my head what if I had had a good teacher or mentor though, even though my professional life has turned out ok.
ttf_Pre59

Post by ttf_Pre59 »

You don't just need a teacher, you need the right one, and one who understands the responsibilities of setting the student off on the right path. I've had three teachers, 2 were established UK symphony players, and one from a UK army service band. They all missed my embouchure problem, one which hindered me right through my playing life, I sorted it out myself about 15 years ago.
ttf_patrickosmith