F Trigger and Double Trigger range

ttf_anonymous

Post by ttf_anonymous »

I recently started playing bass trombone and I was wondering if anyone could give me tips or have any effective ways to building up the trigger and double trigger range. My F to Eb sounds good after that it gets a little more quiet. I have a Bach 1 1/2G mouthpiece. Thanks!  Image
ttf_greenbean

Post by ttf_greenbean »

I would get a good method book, like the double valve book by Alan Raph, and get to work.  It gets better and better with tons of practice.  Image
ttf_Full Pedal Trombonist

Post by ttf_Full Pedal Trombonist »

Off the horn just doing breathing exercises helps  Image

And if you can buzz that low on your mouthpiece that’s a great thing to incorporate into your practice.

Also take a few excerpts you like to play and play them down an octave. It helps with staying musical in the more difficult lower range and being fluent and effortless with the triggers.
ttf_kbiggs

Post by ttf_kbiggs »

There are lots of good introductory and foundation methods for bass trombone. Raph is a good one. Personally, I prefer George Roberts “Let’s Play Bass Trombone” (out of print), or any by Paul Faulise or Lew Gillis.

Keys to getting comfortable and sounding good on the bass trombone, especially in the trigger register, are: focused, steady air with a relaxed mind and body; maintain the same embouchure and mouthpiece setting—if necessary move the jaw out slightly, but not all bass trombonists do (depends on embouchure type); excellent intonation; and patience, dilgence and perseverance.

Specific things to do: long tones, and more long tones; slow slurs; scales, and more scales.

Good luck, and have fun!
ttf_bonearzt

Post by ttf_bonearzt »

Long tones down in the basement are good exercises,  along with scale studies down below.

Rochut 1 & 2 octaves down are good too.  NO puffing of the cheeks and as little or few shifts as possible when you descend.  Keep the corners of the embouchure steady.