Studying composition with or without a teacher

ttf_BFW

Post by ttf_BFW »

I know a number of you have studied composition or are currently studying composition.  I'm considering taking composition lessons, or otherwise making an effort to improve my writing skills, in the not too distant future.  I have some questions and concerns; perhaps some of you could share the benefit of your experiences.

I studied theory and composition as part of my undergraduate music curriculum 20+ years ago, and enjoyed it very much.  I've done some amount of writing over the years since then, mostly choral, nothing longer than about six minutes of music.  I'm not as comfortable as I'd like to be with counterpoint in more than three voices or with chromatic harmonies.  I've tried working out of the Jeppesen counterpoint book or the McHose counterpoint book, but found it really difficult to evaluate what I'd written, and so had trouble learning ways to resolve the problems.

I did find a private composition instructor a while back, but things didn't work out as well as I would have liked.  He was pushing me to write freely, using more modern techniques (I picked up the Persichetti book on 20th century harmony on his recommendation), but I didn't feel my skills were up to that; I think I wanted more theory than he was prepared to teach me.  It was frustrating trying to work on what he asked me to do, and I quit after a few lessons.

OK, enough background.  I'd like to hear about other people's experiences studying composition.  How does it work out trying to study on your own?  Any recommended books?  Any advice?  If an instructor is a necessity, what should I look for, what should I ask?  

Thanks in advance!
ttf_Andrew Meronek

Post by ttf_Andrew Meronek »