Importance of Grad School

ttf_dgstern4

Post by ttf_dgstern4 »

Hello! I'm an undergrad student with a couple years before I really need to worry about this, but professionally my goals are something like: session musician for video game and movie soundtracks, and private teacher in LA, and I am curious what people working in that area would say about graduate schooling. Is it a good idea? Bad idea? Depends? I'm just trying to think a few years ahead so I have time to do research about schools if I decide I do want to get a graduate degree. Thank you all!

ttf_bigbassbone1

Post by ttf_bigbassbone1 »

It really depends... it is a discussion best had with your current teacher I imagine. It will be reliant on how your playing standard is at the end of your current degree, whether you have the mental resolve to see out several more years of study, and whether or not you have an opportunity outside study to start making money.

In my opinion, it would absolutely be worth doing, but not worth sending yourself tens of thousands of dollars into debt for. I would be looking now into schools that have fee waivers or schools that are able to offer generous financial assistance scholarships based on something you can competitively apply for. The good thing about being in L.A. is that is seems most of the major music schools have the ability to offer financial help to good students.
Finance aside, grad school depending on where you are and who you study with can really do wonders for your playing.
ttf_robcat2075

Post by ttf_robcat2075 »

Quote from: dgstern4 on Today at 01:26 PM but professionally my goals are something like: session musician for video game and movie soundtracks,

These jobs are so rare that they are not realistic as a profession.

Several reasons...

-Runaway production. Musicians in other countries hired instead
-Electronic production. Synths and samplers instead of real musicians.