asthma...anyone else have to put up with it?

ttf_s3si1u

Post by ttf_s3si1u »

So here's a little background. I was born with asthma, it used to get to me all the time. Once I started music the asthma kinda went away. But yesterday morning, it hit me again. I felt horrible. I skipped school and work and had to cancel my lesson today. Like lots of us here, I'm studying to become a professional musician. Anyone else have to deal with asthma? Any tips to keep it under control? I want to pick up my trombone again as soon as possible
ttf_BGuttman

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

See a doctor.  They have things called "rescue inhalers" that can alleviate asthma symptoms.  You take one or two puffs and get on with your life.

Long term, you need to find out what triggers the asthma.  And get it out of your life.  I had asthma as a kid that we traced to feather pillows.  So I don't use them.  When I travel I have a special bag that I can put over a feather pillow to keep the little hairs inside.  My wife loves feather pillows, but we make sure they are nowhere near me (separate twin beds).

We have a friend who gets attacks from musty books.  We purged her library one time and she has to be careful frequenting certain stores.

ttf_John Beers Jr.

Post by ttf_John Beers Jr. »

Norman Bolter apparently suffers from asthma and has had to work on the "efficiency" of his embouchure more than most people due to his reduced lung capacity.

He gives some ideas on it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtUVqmpyfIA

Proves, at least, that if you put the work in there's no "glass ceiling" for asthmatic trombonists.
ttf_ivanandrade

Post by ttf_ivanandrade »

I take Zyrtec, Advair and for emergencies Albuterol

Spring is the worst time for me due to my allergies, during the year Zyrtec is good enough, Spring and part of Summer I have to take Zyrtec and Advair

the best thing to can do go to a doctor to be checked and see what you need to control the asthma
ttf_Burgerbob