Logic Pro Beginner

Post Reply
ttf_JLivorsi
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:00 pm

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JLivorsi » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:01 pm

Hey all,

I'm in the process of starting a home studio and was just curious what is the "studio starter pack?" I'm looking to purchase Logic Pro soon and didn't know what else I needed in regards to mic setup and any other equipment.

My goal is to record horns, keyboards and some studio drum stuff. I didn't know if they have drum samples and MIDI plugins that I can use with my keyboard. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
ttf_JBledsoe
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:53 am

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JBledsoe » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:27 pm

To use Logic Pro for recording analog sound, you'll need an audio interface and, if you're tracking drums, an array of microphones.
 
DrumsThere are some very budget friendly interfaces out there, but if you want to track drums, you'd be best served to get an interface with 8 preamps, like the Focusrite Scarlett 18i20. There are numerous set-ups for mic'ing a drum kit. Usually, you're looking at 8 microphones for a robust set-up, and three mics for a minimal set-up. One on each drum, one on the hi-hat, and two overheads. The three mic method uses two overheads and one kick mic. If you're tracking an entire band, a lot of people will run the drum elements through a mixer, and run the stereo-out on the mixer to their interface so that the drums take up less inputs. The only downside to this method is that you must mix the drums before recording.

Horns If you're recording just one horn at a time, then you really only need one good mic, and an interface. If you're recording multiple horns, then you have the option to record the horns in stereo, or individually so you have more flexibility when mixing later in the process. Horns are most often recorded with dynamic mics like the ElectroVoice RE20, or with ribbon microphones. Ribbon mics can be pricey, but there are a number of chinese made ribbons that are great for the price. I would suggest something like the Superlux R102. It's an "active" ribbon, which means you won't need to crank your preamps up as high to get a good level. Passive ribbons have an extremely low output, and for that reason usually require high end preamps to sound great.

Keyboards For keyboards, you'll run those through your interface as well, plugging the outs on the keyboard into the interface. For midi keyboards, most interfaces will have a midi input, so you can use the midi keyboard to trigger software instruments inside Logic.

What kind of budget have you created for this? Make sure you also budget for XLR cables, mic stands, and a set of monitors or studio headphones. Hope this helps! If you give some more details about your budget and whatnot, then I can certainly point you toward specific mics and interfaces.
ttf_Geezerhorn
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_Geezerhorn » Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:13 am

Quote from: JBledsoe on Feb 08, 2017, 09:27PMTo use Logic Pro for recording analog sound, you'll need an audio interface and, if you're tracking drums, an array of microphones.
 
DrumsThere are some very budget friendly interfaces out there, but if you want to track drums, you'd be best served to get an interface with 8 preamps, like the Focusrite Scarlett 18i20. There are numerous set-ups for mic'ing a drum kit. Usually, you're looking at 8 microphones for a robust set-up, and three mics for a minimal set-up. One on each drum, one on the hi-hat, and two overheads. The three mic method uses two overheads and one kick mic. If you're tracking an entire band, a lot of people will run the drum elements through a mixer, and run the stereo-out on the mixer to their interface so that the drums take up less inputs. The only downside to this method is that you must mix the drums before recording.

Horns If you're recording just one horn at a time, then you really only need one good mic, and an interface. If you're recording multiple horns, then you have the option to record the horns in stereo, or individually so you have more flexibility when mixing later in the process. Horns are most often recorded with dynamic mics like the ElectroVoice RE20, or with ribbon microphones. Ribbon mics can be pricey, but there are a number of chinese made ribbons that are great for the price. I would suggest something like the Superlux R102. It's an "active" ribbon, which means you won't need to crank your preamps up as high to get a good level. Passive ribbons have an extremely low output, and for that reason usually require high end preamps to sound great.

Keyboards For keyboards, you'll run those through your interface as well, plugging the outs on the keyboard into the interface. For midi keyboards, most interfaces will have a midi input, so you can use the midi keyboard to trigger software instruments inside Logic.

What kind of budget have you created for this? Make sure you also budget for XLR cables, mic stands, and a set of monitors or studio headphones. Hope this helps! If you give some more details about your budget and whatnot, then I can certainly point you toward specific mics and interfaces.

This is the mic I use in my home recording studio. It has a very warm sound and sounds very nice when I play as low in the bass clef as I can. Not all mics are good for lower brass.

If using the above-mentioned mic, you might want to EQ the recorded lower brass track to take out a little bass and add a little treble. I don't find I need to, but others have said that's what they do. About the only thing I do to my "raw" recording is run it through compression - but only when I need to if - I have maybe played a little too loudly while recording. Otherwise, I just go with the "raw" sound mixed down with the accompaniment.

...Geezer
ttf_JLivorsi
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:00 pm

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JLivorsi » Thu Feb 09, 2017 11:15 pm

@JBledsoe

I'm not really sure what my budget is and I know it's going to take time to build what I want. I am more or less looking for what equipment I need. I have mics, stands, cables, and will upgrade when more money comes my way, but for now it looks like I need to get some nice monitors/headphones, and an audio interface.

What audio interface do you recommend? I'm assuming you can get interfaces with as many inputs as you need? What's ideal? I'm aiming to use my keyboard as a MIDI interface and record drums digitally.

Hopefully that makes sense. Thanks for the input thus far!
ttf_JBledsoe
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:53 am

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JBledsoe » Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:17 pm

Quote from: JLivorsi on Feb 09, 2017, 11:15PM@JBledsoe

I'm not really sure what my budget is and I know it's going to take time to build what I want. I am more or less looking for what equipment I need. I have mics, stands, cables, and will upgrade when more money comes my way, but for now it looks like I need to get some nice monitors/headphones, and an audio interface.

What audio interface do you recommend? I'm assuming you can get interfaces with as many inputs as you need? What's ideal? I'm aiming to use my keyboard as a MIDI interface and record drums digitally.

Hopefully that makes sense. Thanks for the input thus far!

You're more or less correct that you can get interfaces with as many inputs as you'll need. They come in various configurations, with most prosumer interfaces capping out at 8 mic preamps. I would suggest the Focusrite 18i20 if you're going to be tracking drums. It has 18 inputs, 8 of which are preamps for plugging in microphones or guitars. If you find you need more mic inputs at some point, you can utilize those other inputs with external preamps. I know that sounds like a mouthful, but the more you dive in, it will start to make sense.

Personally, I find 8 preamps on a standalone interface to be ideal if you're planning on tracking drums or multiple instruments at once. It's also nice to be able to set up several microphones and not have to constantly unplug mic's because you have limited pre's/inputs.

There are several companies that make budget friendly modules similar to the Focusrite 18i20. The PreSonus 1818 sports similar connectivity, but if you use a Mac, I would stay away from their products. Here is a link to Sweetwater, with the preferences set to 8 preamps so you can get an idea of various price ranges.

https://www.sweetwater.com/c695--USB_Au ... WyI4Il19fQ

 Behringer has really stepped up their game, but is still a budget brand. You get the same features for 200-300 less than comparable units, but the sound quality does suffer. If you want the end product to be something you can be proud to distribute, I would stick to Motu, Focusrite, M-Audio, or Zoom.
ttf_JLivorsi
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:00 pm

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JLivorsi » Sun Feb 12, 2017 6:41 am

I don't plan on tracking drums. Probably 2-4 input is all I need. And even 4 might be too many. I will probably use my keyboard for almost everything and then record horn stuff on my own. Maybe once in a blue moon run a stereo pair for multiple horns at once. I really have no idea what I plan on using everything for until I buy it and figure out what to do with it.

Any recommendations for a 2 channel with Midi interface? I saw that same brand has that.
ttf_JBledsoe
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:53 am

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JBledsoe » Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:36 am

You can get the Focusrite in various configurations for your needs. All the brands mentioned above have units which feature inputs for whatever you need. If you just need a couple pre's for micing horns and you'll be triggering drum sounds inside Logic then you could go more streamlines with something like the Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 to make sure you have a midi input. I guess it depends on whether your keyboard is actually a midi out or USB like many are these days.
ttf_JLivorsi
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:00 pm

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JLivorsi » Tue May 02, 2017 3:18 pm

I should mention that I ended up with a 2 channel focusrite 2i2 and already regret it. Haha! Don't get me wrong I love it, but I've already been asked to track stuff out of my house and wish I was able to at least record 4 channels at a time. Although I can't really afford that right now, so I'll make it work.

Side note, the Focusrite comes with a free version of pro tools and ableton. I love the free version of pro tools because it gives you the entire program, but limits you to only being able to save 3 projects. Time to upgrade!
ttf_JLivorsi
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:00 pm

Logic Pro Beginner

Post by ttf_JLivorsi » Tue May 02, 2017 3:18 pm

I should mention that I ended up with a 2 channel focusrite 2i2 and already regret it. Haha! Don't get me wrong I love it, but I've already been asked to track stuff out of my house and wish I was able to at least record 4 channels at a time. Although I can't really afford that right now, so I'll make it work.

Side note, the Focusrite comes with a free version of pro tools and ableton. I love the free version of pro tools because it gives you the entire program, but limits you to only being able to save 3 projects. Time to upgrade!
Post Reply

Return to “Technology”