church gigs for high school player

Looking for opportunities?
dylanle

church gigs for high school player

Post by dylanle »

Hey everybody, I'm a sophomore in high school looking to make some $ and hear church gigs can pay pretty well. How do I get one and would they hire high school players?
Gary

Re: church gigs for high school player

Post by Gary »

At your age, mainly through networking.

Begin playing in your own church if you have one, and for pay or not. Meet other players through this and see if there are other opportunities through them. There may be other word-of-mouth gigs you get from school band. If you have a community band near by, consider playing in it and making even more referrals.

Check media, if there are notices on craigslist or union bulletin boards and publications.

Good luck.
timothy42b

Post by timothy42b »

Church gigs pay well on Easter and for weddings and funerals.

The rest of the time they are low pay or unpaid.

Surprisingly, they will stiff you. At your age you'll have to risk it, but later you'll want to get the check before playing.
Mikebmiller

Post by Mikebmiller »

Email some choir directors in your area and offer your services. Don't expect a huge response. If you can find one to let you play, get the music early and practice it. Mark any strange key signatures or accidentals. Although most church anthems are pretty easy, you want to make a good impression. Show up at least 15 minutes early for rehearsal and dress appropriately. Keep your phone in your pocket during rehearsal and pay attention to what's going on. Play musically - this is not a football game and you are there to supplement the voices, not overwhelm them.

Show up 30 minutes early for the service, again appropriately dressed and groomed. Play well. Be nice to the little old ladies who come up to you after the service. Thank the choir director in person and in an email afterwards.

If you do all this, you are likely to be invited back.
LarryPrestonRoberson