Inexpensive Bass Trombone Suggestions

ttf_anonymous

Post by ttf_anonymous »

Open to almost any brands. I'm a rising college freshman so a price under $3000 would be optimal.

Thanks!
ttf_greenbean

Post by ttf_greenbean »

E-mailed you!
ttf_Cush

Post by ttf_Cush »

Pm sent.
ttf_Carter1016

Post by ttf_Carter1016 »

Still looking for a bass... PM or email me if you have one for sale please! Thanks!
ttf_crazytrombonist505

Post by ttf_crazytrombonist505 »

Have you seen this one? I've never played one but many people like the Holton TR180...

https://www.ebay.com/itm/302341265049
ttf_BGuttman

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

Quote from: crazytrombonist505 on Yesterday at 11:14 AMHave you seen this one? I've never played one but many people like the Holton TR180...

https://www.ebay.com/itm/302341265049

Looks like a flat E 2nd valve.  I know that Eb and D crooks are available.

Great horn.  Lot of people on here like the TR-180.
ttf_crazytrombonist505

Quote from: BGuttman on Yesterday at 11:19 AMLooks like a flat E 2nd valve.  I know that Eb and D crooks are available.

Oh... I didn't catch that. That being the case, it may not be the best option. Even though the TR180 is a great horn, this TR181 may be a better option.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/232362332632

Just my two cents...
ttf_BGuttman

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

Inexpensive often means needing to deal with older technology.  This 180 could easily be made more current with the addition of a crook for a couple of hundred dollars, still well below his price point.  And there's nothing wrong with a flat E 2nd valve for most bass trombone work.
ttf_ntap

Post by ttf_ntap »

Quote from: crazytrombonist505 on Yesterday at 11:23 AMOh... I didn't catch that. That being the case, it may not be the best option. Even though the TR180 is a great horn, this TR181 may be a better option.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/232362332632

Just my two cents...

Definitely go with the TR180.  Things started to get weird with the 181.