Tuba mouthpiece

ttf_Jesse

Tuba mouthpiece

Post by ttf_Jesse »

Hello
I read somewhere that playing or at least buzzing on a tuba mouthpiece can help improve my trombone tone. I've been playing for 3 years and no tuba experience. What mouthpiece do you guys think I should buy? Thanks
ttf_robcat2075

Tuba mouthpiece

Post by ttf_robcat2075 »

First, I'd be real curious to know where you read that and who said it.

And then I'd be curious to know if they had any more than one anecdotal experience to base it on.
ttf_BGuttman

Tuba mouthpiece

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

It probably doesn't help unless you want to play tuba as well.

If you really want to do it I'd go for a cheap used one.  Probably on the smallish side.  When I play tuba I will use something like a Bach 25, Schilke Helleberg, or the like.  Hellebergs are a good choice since they tend to have relatively small rims and deep cups.  Easier to play with a trombone embouchure.
ttf_Doug Elliott

Tuba mouthpiece

Post by ttf_Doug Elliott »

I now have a tuba and sousaphone, and I don't know why I didn't try it years ago.  A few minutes a few days a week feels great and seems to keep me in shape nicely.  I don't know specifically if it helps sound or not.

I use a pretty big tuba mouthpiece, my 130R.  Smaller just doesn't work for me.
ttf_BGuttman

Tuba mouthpiece

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

Quote from: Doug Elliott on Aug 28, 2017, 03:12PMI now have a tuba and sousaphone, and I don't know why I didn't try it years ago.  A few minutes a few days a week feels great and seems to keep me in shape nicely.  I don't know specifically if it helps sound or not.

I use a pretty big tuba mouthpiece, my 130R.  Smaller just doesn't work for me.

Interesting.  The big ones didn't work for me at all.  I tried a Bach 18 and a Marcinkiewicz H1.  I can sorta make the H1 work but the Bach 18 was a no go.  I have a no-name 25 that worked OK.  Even used it with my bass trombone to simulate a Cimbasso.
ttf_bigbassbone1

Tuba mouthpiece