Longtime Doubler

Important Trombone Chat information starts here.
Eupher

Longtime Doubler

Post by Eupher »

I'm a euph player primarily, but I've played tenor and bass trombones for decades. Retired from the U.S. Army 28 years ago as a euphoniumist, and not only do I still play but I started playing tuba as well about 13 years ago. I've been putting in more time on bass bone and I'm reminded that holding the horn up for more than a half hour at a time yields a special kind of pain.

I currently have a Bullet Brace on my Edwards, but I'm looking to try something else. The Neotech seems reasonable and I ordered it a few minutes ago. Will check it out and report back.

I was mostly a lurker on the old Trombone Forum, but I see it's now defunct. No problem -- this site appears to be a solid community and I'm glad to have registered.
hyperbolica

Re: Longtime Doubler

Post by hyperbolica »

Welcome, lots of doubler company around here. For the bass bone, the Ergobone is an awkward but effective way to support the weight. Nothing else actually takes the weight off of your hand/wrist/arm.
Eupher

Post by Eupher »

hyperbolica wrote: Sat Nov 26, 2022 8:31 pm Welcome, lots of doubler company around here. For the bass bone, the Ergobone is an awkward but effective way to support the weight. Nothing else actually takes the weight off of your hand/wrist/arm.
Thanks for the tip! I'll check it out.
Eupher

Post by Eupher »

Well, I checked it out and I can now see what you mean about the Ergobone being awkward. I can also see what you mean about nothing else actually taking the weight off.

I think I'm just gonna suck it up and develop enough strength in my left arm to keep the horn up for at least a half hour non-stop. I'm 66 and not in the best shape, so I've got some work to do.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »