Recommended <$200 beater/backup?

Austinato

Recommended <$200 beater/backup?

Post by Austinato »

I recently sold my Yamaha 448g beginner that I had kept since I was a beginner for marching, and now I do not have a horn for my required marching credit. I'll probably only be marching for one more semester, and sometime around or before this summer I'm going to buy a cheap horn just to march with since I'm not marching either of my daily drivers.

Basically, if choosing between a pBone, a used facebook marketplace beginner or a cheap chinese amazon clone, which would you all recommend? I'm not expecting Thein quality or anything, I just want to know what would be the most consistent so that if I have to use it as a backup horn for big band it wouldn't be too jarring of a change while not spending $500-$1000.

I love my 2b, so I've considered a used King like a 606 but I don't know how the quality varies on their beginners to their pro horns. I've also heard good things about pBones, and I have a mini (Eb alto) but I don't know how they would actually holdup in a playing setting.
Burgerbob

Re: Recommended <$200 beater/backup?

Post by Burgerbob »

Yamaha 354.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
walldaja

Post by walldaja »

Avoid a Pbone. Yamaha 354 is an excellent choice.
Dave

2020ish? Shires Q30GR with 2CL
1982 King 607F with 13CL
Yamaha 421G Bass with Christian Lindberg 2CL / Bach 1 1/2G
Bach Soloist with 13CL
1967 Olds Ambassador with 10CL
1957 Besson 10-10
Jean Baptiste EUPCOMS with Stork 4
Kingfan

Post by Kingfan »

Don't know how a pBone or a cheap Chinese clone would hold up to marching, but I wouldn't want to try. Student horn from King, Conn, Yamaha, Getzen, etc. would be best. For instance, there is a King 606 near me that is cosmetically ugly but plays fine for $75. The Yam 354 has a great reputation for being a great player and able to hold its own in a jazz setting, and I find some on Facebook Marketplace for $200 and under.