Laskey Alessi Signature...?

Garoissimo

Laskey Alessi Signature...?

Post by Garoissimo »

Well, I must regrettably say that unlike the Greg Black Alessi Signatures that I have been playing and performing on for 20 years, the newest Alessi signature from Laskey really did not really impress me at all. But, I suppose it is simply that his original design is still, for me my ultimate match. It also makes sense that as Mr. Alessi's embouchure has matured and changed slightly over the years that his current ultimate design may not be quite the same as it was 20 years ago. I do note that ALL of the 3 rim diameters in this newest line are actually smaller than the Black versions of old. Of course the 67 is certainly still huge in terms of what most mere mortals would ever consider as suitable for symphonic principal. The backbore and throat on all three is also larger by quite a bit.

However, I had a really bad experience with the eBay distributor that I elected to purchase from, so bad in fact that it has led me to wonder if he is mixing in factory 2nds, or even rejects, into his stock. The piece I received was physically rough to the touch inside the cup, and one can not only feel the rough machining cut marks, but they are clearly visible even to the eye. I was a prototype machinist at one point in my life for about 5 years, and so I know exactly what I was seeing. This was NOT the fine finish cut and polished surface of a high end custom mouthpiece. Not at all. Not the proper finish cut of ANY mouthpiece I had ever seen.

This distributor has apparently has tens of thousand of happy customers and close to a 100% 5-star rating. He also has a 'No Returns' policy; yet, the workmanship was so bad, and so evident even in the photos I sent him that he immediately approved a full refund.