Questions on auditions

Spin your yarns here.
SamEdwTbone

Questions on auditions

Post by SamEdwTbone »

So recently I had a district audition for my high school where for the 3rd year in a row I absolutely bombed it to the max and got 23rd out of 36 and this always happens. pre audition im playing it flawlessly but as soon as i play in front of a judge I play like its my first time playing my etudes. y'all have any suggestions on how to get over the audition nerves because i plan on auditioning for a local youth orchestra and i dont wanna look like an idiot *again*
Doug Elliott

Re: Questions on auditions

Post by Doug Elliott »

An audition is a performance, by yourself. You have to get practice doing that...parents, relatives, friends, anybody who will listen. That means being totally prepared. If possible, memorize what you'll be playing. Memorization takes practice in itself. Record yourself and play along with the playback. If possible find a great recording of somebody else playing the same thing, and play along with that.

It gets better.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
robcat2075

Post by robcat2075 »

Like the OP I was impossibly nervous trying to play for people.

The best playing I've ever done for auditions was when I didn't take it seriously.

Freshman year of college, the audition to see which band I'd be placed in...there was this girl waiting in line outside with everyone else telling astonishingly dirty jokes. By the time it was my turn to go in to play, all my seriousness had been flattened and yet I nailed everything they asked me to do in the audition.

First year of grad school, I wasn't a performance major, but one had to do an audition before one could be in any ensemble or take any lessons. I figured it was all just a formality before they stuck me in the marching band...but then I played probably the best I've ever played and got into the top band.