Straight tenor

How and what to teach and learn.
Trhtrbn

Straight tenor

Post by Trhtrbn »

I was wondering what y’all’s opinion is on a question. I am an ex-tuba player. I started on trumpet in 4th grade, switched to baritone in 7th grade and then tuba in HS and the Army Band. I played tuba and a little bass bone in community bands for years. I stopped playing because of loosing my upper teeth in a motorcycle accident in 2010. I started playing again the beginning of 2023. I tried playing tuba and bass bone again, but because of the dentures I had to create an entirely new embouchure and found that my embouchure is best suited for a small bore tenor instead. My question is, since I never studied or took lessons on the slide trombone, should I take lessons and practice on a small bore straight tenor, to get my slide positions mastered, instead of a small bore with F attachment?
Thom H
King 4B bone, Denis Wick 5AL Mouthpiece.
Yamaha YSL-3530R bone, Bach 5G small shank mouthpiece.
Kingfan

Re: Straight tenor

Post by Kingfan »

The F attachment should make no difference. If you don't use the trigger, it is just like a straight horn. Just don't use the F trigger until you have 6th and 7th positions mastered.
I'm not a complete idiot, some parts are still missing! :D
Greg Songer
King 606, King 3B-F: DE LT101/LTD/D3
King 4B-F: Bach 5G Megatone gold plated
King 2107 bass: DE MB109/MB J/J8 King
JeffBone44

Post by JeffBone44 »

Don't forget 5th position! That's arguably the most difficult to play in tune - it's kind of out in the middle of nowhere.
Trhtrbn

Post by Trhtrbn »

JeffBone44 wrote: Fri Dec 15, 2023 2:36 pm Don't forget 5th position! That's arguably the most difficult to play in tune - it's kind of out in the middle of nowhere.
Thanks
Thom H
Trhtrbn

Post by Trhtrbn »