Lip Injury Advice

Invigoration

Lip Injury Advice

Post by Invigoration »

For a little bit of context, I am a sophomore in college getting an undergrad degree in performance. I play lead trombone in every ensemble at my college. I have also put myself through a rigorous 6 hour or so personal practice routine for the past 2-3 years. By personal practice routine, I mean this does not count ensemble rehearsal or performances. So some days I would play upwards of 10 hours in a day, or as little as 6 hours a day.

Now that I’m here, I realize I had not incorporated anywhere near enough rest in my routine, and that has already been adjusted for once I get my chops back.

A couple of months ago there was a weekend that I had 5 very demanding and full gigs. By the 5th gig, my chops were shot. By the end of it, I knew I had blown something in my chops because it hurt to play. I figured I would just take some time off for it to heal. I took two weeks off and it still hurt to play. I took an additional two weeks off and I could play for about 10-15 minutes before pain returned. I also noticed an uncontrollable trembling or shaking thing, especially when holding long tones and descending lip slurs.

I took another 2 weeks off and nothing had changed.

My prof told me to play for 5-10 minutes a day. I trust him and I’ll try that out for a little and see if it helps, but I am still extremely concerned about the health of my chops. Looking back at what I’ve done to myself and where I’m at now, I am very concerned about having a fully healthy embouchure and making a full and complete recovery. Is there any product or method that can be used to boost health or recovery to the embouchure? I already use Robinson’s Remedies products religiously.

I have also researched a ton into Embouchure Overuse and Embouchure Dystonia.

Do any of you that have experience with embouchure injury have advice?
Thanks so much.
Doug Elliott

Re: Lip Injury Advice

Post by Doug Elliott »