Masterclass Etiquette

How and what to teach and learn.
Briande

Masterclass Etiquette

Post by Briande »

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question or not. There is a Masterclass this month at Michigan State University with Christian Lindberg. I'm an amateur (community bands, etc) but plan on attending. I've never been to a Masterclass before with a musician. Do I bring my trombone? Or is it a some bring it some don't situation? Or are they usually just listen and learn?

Thank you.
I’m not a collector, I just have too many trombones….
King 2B. King 3B. King 3B+ w/F attachment and gold brass bell. King Duo Gravis. Getzen 1047FR. Conn 6H. Conn 48H.
BGuttman

Re: Masterclass Etiquette

Post by BGuttman »

That really depends.

If you haven't been asked to play for the master class, don't plan on being evaluated by the maestro. Mostly, promising students at the school will be asked to play for him.

Sometimes a master class will have a group play-in. If you know this will happen, by all means bring your trombone.

If there isn't supposed to be a play-in, leave the horn home and bring your ears (and maybe a secretive recording device).
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

Odds are there are a few college students that have been selected to play for Christian. You'll sit and listen to them play as he works with them in kind of an open lesson format.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

Briande wrote: Tue Jan 02, 2024 12:57 pm I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question or not. There is a Masterclass this month at Michigan State University with Christian Lindberg. I'm an amateur (community bands, etc) but plan on attending. I've never been to a Masterclass before with a musician. Do I bring my trombone? Or is it a some bring it some don't situation? Or are they usually just listen and learn?

Thank you.