New at bass trombones.

How and what to teach and learn.
BlackMasquerade

New at bass trombones.

Post by BlackMasquerade »

Hello everyone, this is my first time using this site as of current. I am a novice player, as I have yet to graduate or take extended amounts of time to practice myself. Recently (around one year ago), I got my hands on a Bach 50BO single trigger bass trombone, I have already figured out the trigger positionings, but I am struggling with getting a grasp on how to properly play it, and have just been using it as a regular trombone. I was wondering if anyone had tips on this model, as I could not find any extensive information online aside from the official Bach description.
Thanks! :hi:
Posaunus

Re: New at bass trombones.

Post by Posaunus »

Have you considered a lesson with a bass trombonist?
Pezza

Post by Pezza »

Bach 50s were the standard bass bone for a long time.
You need to play a bass trombone differently to a tenor!
Practice pieces you know on tenor, but take it down an octave. Hymns are a good way to start.
Do flexibility / sluring studies. Start in 1st (Bb) and go down in semitones until you're in T7 (C).
Play scales in the bottom register. Try going to the tonic between every note. Bb- C - Bb -D - Bb etc
Agree with getting some lessons with a bass trombone player.
Am I a trombone player who plays euphonium, or a euphonium player who plays trombone? :idk:
BlackMasquerade

Post by BlackMasquerade »

Pezza wrote: Fri Jan 05, 2024 6:11 pm Bach 50s were the standard bass bone for a long time.
You need to play a bass trombone differently to a tenor!
Practice pieces you know on tenor, but take it down an octave. Hymns are a good way to start.
Do flexibility / sluring studies. Start in 1st (Bb) and go down in semitones until you're in T7 (C).
Play scales in the bottom register. Try going to the tonic between every note. Bb- C - Bb -D - Bb etc
Agree with getting some lessons with a bass trombone player.