A lube method for old and new ball and socket linkages.

whitbey

A lube method for old and new ball and socket linkages.

Post by whitbey »

I have been doing this with my old Bach bass since the 1970’s and with the new metal valve linkages as I have acquired them. I put a gob of Vaseline on the metal sockets, then hit it with a lighter/small flame just enough to melt in the lube. Make sure the flame does not hit the bumpers. Once you get the linkage adjusted, You never have to change it. My old Bach bass is still quiet and fast. Also put a gob a Vaseline on the pivot and spring and hit that with a lighter. My Cerveny oval euphonium has linkage similar to the old Bach. It does really great this way too. I also find hitting the lube on a tuning slide will help a lot too.
Edwards Sterling bell 525/547
Edwards brass bell 547/562
Edwards Jazz w/ Ab valve 500"/.508"
Markus Leuchter Alto Trombone
Bass Bach 50 Bb/F/C dependent.
Cerveny oval euphonium
Full list in profile
Crazy4Tbone86

Re: A lube method for old and new ball and socket linkages.

Post by Crazy4Tbone86 »

The only problem with Vaseline is that its viscosity will vary greatly with temperature. In 45-50 degrees Fahrenheit, it will be very slow because the Vaseline will be rather stiff. If you perform on a hot summer day/evening and the temperature is in the mid-90s Fahrenheit, the Vaseline will be extremely thin and watery.

Many of the ball-joint and bearing lubricants that are on the market will maintain a more consistent viscosity. Almost all lubricants tend to thicken in cold and thin in hot temperatures. It’s the matter of how much they change that differs between products and brands.
Brian D. Hinkley - Player, Teacher, Technician and Trombone Enthusiast
ssking2b

Post by ssking2b »

Try using STP. I’ve used it on rotary valve linkages for years and it works great. Since it is a VERY thick liquid it is easy to get it into the ball joints and springs.
===============================================