Best Brass mini straight bass trombone mute

ghmerrill

Best Brass mini straight bass trombone mute

Post by ghmerrill »

[ Do NOT be misled by The Horn Guys' insisting on listing this as a "pixie" mute.]

I just got one of these delivered from The Horn Guys. First reaction: AMAZING. I'm not even sure that I'll fiddle with the corks and seating depth on it. Really good all the way down through the peddle range. Seems great on either valve or the double valve combo (but see below). I'm just an amateur with not much mute experience and sophistication, but this thing is remarkable. Definitely worth the money.

Seated in the bell, it sticks out only about 3/4" past the rim, and so fits in the bell IN THE CASE -- though just barely in my case. While you can tell that there's something in the bell, and it adds a little weight there, you can't see it, and the weight is minor in terms of balance. My postal scale says 4.2 oz.

Intonation seems great, and it blows quite freely. Except ... well ... in the first couple of positions on either the F or the Gb valve, it's a bit funky/stuffy -- but nothing that I think can't be dealt with.

Of course, I really need to play on it. But I think it's a real winner.
Gary Merrill
Wessex EEb tuba
Mack Brass Compensating Euph
Amati Oval Euph
1924 Buescher 3-valve Eb tuba
Schiller American Heritage 7B clone bass trombone
DE LB K/K9/112 Lexan, Brass Ark MV50R
1947 Olds "Standard" trombone (Bach 12c)
harrisonreed

Re: Best Brass mini straight bass trombone mute

Post by harrisonreed »

Video or it didn't happen! :D
ghmerrill

Post by ghmerrill »

Hmmm ... trust but verify. Fair enough. But I'm not set up very well for videos, and wouldn't be able to do it probably for a couple of weeks at least. I'm about to be attacked by my ENT guy, and when I mentioned the possibility of playing large brass instruments, he said "Not for at least a week." :roll: