Hifi Bass Management

MTbassbone

Hifi Bass Management

Post by MTbassbone »

I am curious about the Emotiva TA-1 integrated amplifier that has a low pass filter a 90 hz. I take this to mean all frequencies below 90 hz get sent to the subwoofer. However my sub has a low pass filter too. I have it set for 60 hz. Does this mean my subwoofer won't play frequencies between 61 hz and 90 hz?
baileyman

Re: Hifi Bass Management

Post by baileyman »

Presumably the filters are switched?
MTbassbone

Post by MTbassbone »

baileyman wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 10:38 am Presumably the filters are switched?
Sorry I don't know what that means. When it comes to the details on hifi equipment I am a newbie. I know what I like and don't like sound wise. Unfortunately I don't have one to audition right now.
baileyman

Post by baileyman »

My own receivers, preamps may have filters available, but only by switching on, else they're off. If these guys have switches you should be able to control the filtering.
MTbassbone

Post by MTbassbone »

baileyman wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2024 10:53 am My own receivers, preamps may have filters available, but only by switching on, else they're off. If these guys have switches you should be able to control the filtering.
Not sure. Here is a link to a pic of the back panel: https://darko.audio/2022/01/got-a-subwo ... id=1&pid=1
Jimkinkella

Post by Jimkinkella »

According to the manual: your receiver sub output is fixed as a 90hz low pass.
That means that everything (theoretically) below 90hz is always sent out that rca, the frequency is not adjustable, the filter cannot be changed or turned off.
The crossover high pass rcas have a fixed high pass filter at 90hz allowing everything above 90hz through.
The main out rcas and speaker level outputs have a switch that can allow those outputs to be either full range, or high passes at 90hz.
Page 26 Of the manual