William Martin Hughes 1948-2024

Discuss the people that make the music here.
KWL

William Martin Hughes 1948-2024

Post by KWL »

Martin Hughes, Professor Emeritus at Winthrop University, died Sunday, March 10th in Rock Hill, SC.

Martin earned his bachelor's degree at Virginia Commonwealth University, a master's at the University of Louisville and a PhD. at the University of Maryland. He was a member of the New Louisville Brass Quintet and performed with the Louisville Orchestra. Martin joined the Annapolis Brass Quintet for their 1977-1980 seasons (https://www.brassquintetforum.com/). He was professor of low brass and theory at Winthrop from 1987 until his retirement in 2017.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
mingworm

Re: William Martin Hughes 1948-2024

Post by mingworm »

Dr. Hughes was a generous person and talented player. As I was good friends with his son, he was a bit of a low brass mentor since I started playing in 1995. He and his wife treated me like family at a time when my home life was not good, even taking me Norway for two weeks to study music. RIP Dr. Hughes.
jauman4

Re: William Martin Hughes 1948-2024

Post by jauman4 »