Mouthpiece right size

jaywalker

Mouthpiece right size

Post by jaywalker »

I'm new to trombone (a former sax player learning a new instrument ).
I'm experimenting with mouthpieces.
I go it down to 24,7-25mm rim.
Currently on Curry 7S & 6M.
With 7S I can play 2 partials higher, with 6M the bottom is much more solid and smoother.
With 7S I feel like I'm "out of the mouthpiece" with 6M it's like a glove.
Should I stick with the 6M and work on the muscles to get the high tones, thus keeping the low?
Thanks
Kevbach33

Re: Mouthpiece right size

Post by Kevbach33 »

Welcome to trombone!

Curry's S cup is intended for lead playing, according to their site. The M cup seems to be more of an "all around" type.

Since you say the 6M fits your face better (like a glove, as you say) I'd say stick with that. It's a solid size (roughly a Bach 6½AL equivalent) for a new player, and will allow you access to all registers as you develop while keeping a solid low range (2nd and 3rd partials).

Do you have a lessons teacher yet?
Kevin Afflerbach
'57 Conn 6H, Warburton 9M/9D/T3★
'62 Holton 168, Bach 5GL
Getzen 1052FD Eterna, Pickett 1.5S
F. Schmidt 2103 BBb Tuba, Laskey 30G
Wessex Tubas TE360P Bombino, Perantucci PT-84-S
John Packer JP274MKII Euphonium, Robert Tucci RT-7C
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

It's not really about building muscles. If you're new, stick with a 6 and work on controlling the direction of the air and the embouchure aperture. With a teach', of course!
jaywalker

Post by jaywalker »

I do have a teacher and I watch a lot of online trombone teachers, testing their different approaches to see what clicks. This is my 6th instrument over 40 years.
Piano ( Conservatory/Composition ), Guitar (rock band), Drums ( polka band ), Fujara ( large upright wooden flute / folklore & jazz ), Sax ( ska ), Trombone ( future Electronica Lounge ).
I like to experiment a lot, I'm not in a rush and overall going for sound quality more than fast up and down. I enjoy long tones.